This Guide is a team effort.

We are deeply grateful to the 38 external reviewers who generously took the time to read and provide expert comments on draft chapters. Cyril Cassisa, Kevin Chen, Erica Downs, Michael Eckhart, Jackson Ewing, Wei Feng, Tad Ferris, Julio Friedmann, Sam Geall, Dong Guo, David Hart, Zhuli Hess, Kevin Karl, Nina Khanna, Peter Levi, Joanna Lewis, Bo Li, Ken Lieberthal, Alvin Lin, Jiang Lin, Hongyou Lu, Scott Moore, Xueyao Pan, Kaare Sandholt, Bo Shen, Cecilia Springer, Todd Stern, Xiaopu Sun, Kevin Tu, Jennifer Turner, Yunshi Wang, Dan Wetzel, Yan Qin, Jingjing Zhang, Xiaohua Zhang, Zizhu Zhang, Nan Zhou and Erpu Zhu each brought deep substantive knowledge to their reviews and helped shape the final manuscript. We also benefited from exchanges with Yiheng Tao, Ma Yu and Ma Zhenyu. Mistakes are of course our own.

We are also deeply grateful to the Columbia University graduate students whose research assistance contributed to this Guide. During the past year, Baihui Lei, Yifan Li, Yishu Li, Yulin Lou, Wenjing Qin, Youyi Xu, Jiashi Yang and Ziwei Zhang each provided important support.

Special thanks to Kate Teasdale, Anna Gossett, Lisa Simpson and Darren Lingard, who played central roles in the production of this volume.

Enormous thanks to the Hewlett Foundation and Children’s Investment Fund Foundation, whose generous financial support makes this Guide possible.

Finally, our thanks to all of you who will read this Guide and send comments or updates to [email protected].

This is a “living document.” It will be updated and modified on this website. We’re grateful for any and all thoughts or comments you may have.

Guide to Chinese Climate Policy